G.I. Bill benefits for Flight Training

GB403

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
GB403
Post 911 G.I. Bill benefits offers around $12K for eligible veterans (and also depending on the percentage of qualification) for flight training during an academic year: August 1 to July 31. Has anyone used their VA benefits for flight training in the SoCal area? Any problems and/or missed expectations?

I used my post 9/11 benefit in texas at a 141 school to get my IR. Was painless other than I had to pay out off pocket first then the VA reimbursed me after I graduated. Other than that worked great.

I used my post 9/11 benefit in texas at a 141 school to get my IR.

Were you able to use it for an IFR-only program? Every place I've looked, their program is both IFR and commercial.

I used my post 9/11 benefit in texas at a 141 school to get my IR. Was painless other than I had to pay out off pocket first then the VA reimbursed me after I graduated. Other than that worked great.

ughh, Id be very leery of this type of arrangement where you pay first. I don't think that is in the spirit of what the VA intends. The VA pays *the school*!
So what happens when you cut a check up front, the flight school goes belly up or runs into financial issues or whatever and they run off with your money AND subsequently, the VA money? It would not be the first time a flight school up and folds with peoples money. There is a relatively shady flight school in my area that does VA benefits this way and I thought that was an anomaly. Apparently its more common than I thought...