Forecasting tops

mikegreen

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
mike g.
Attached is todays 12z sounding forecast+24hrs for JOT (8am local tmrw).

I'm new to this type of display, and the clouds in general :) I can see where the dewpoint spread closes and that corresponds with the scattered 5000 ovc 7000 forecast...

But what about tops? Is there any published tops forecasts? Or does this really indicate I'd be in the clouds 7k and up??

I'd ask my CFII, but he's on vacation..

regards,

Mike

Attachments

• 2013-01-17_1041.png
    2013-01-17_1041.png
    68.9 KB · Views: 54
there are no clear cut tops from the forecast. but there is also a little bit of spread so you might find that you'll be in and out of clouds depending on if the area your in is a little moister/dryer or warmer/cooler than that point forecast.

Looks like I need to practice reading RUCs. 7-27k looks like IMC conditions.
Gonna monitor this thread.

oh sometimes you'll see a tops forecast in the area forecast. otherwise the sounding and PIREPs are your best bet. i see you are in dayton so if i was you i wouldn't be afraid to call up the tower and ask what they are getting for tops reports, if any, if i was curious.

I noticed you used the GFS model. I read somewhere the Op40 model was the way to go, though I am not really sure why. Also I wouldn't expect it to be that accurate more than 12 hours out anyway. (you are making this flight 8am tomorrow, correct)

The area forecast does not include tops in the outlook forecast to my knowledge. Just in the immediate forecast period. So check the area forecast tonight and you might see some info on the tops tomorrow.

I thought the most reliable method of forecasting cloud tops was to take the service ceiling of the aircraft you're flying and adding 2,000' to it.
:dunno: