Flying Options

flyguy_17

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
flyguy_17
Hi all. I'm in a situation where I dont really know where to go from here as far as my flying career goes and would like some opinions. First, let me explain my background and current position:

I have been absolutly facinated and in love with aviation since I was a little kid. I got my first ride in a 172 as a gift from my parents for my 11th birthday and was hooked. I got a job at the local FBO when I was 15, earned my PPL (in the exact 172 that I tool that first ride in) when I was 17 and before I graduated HS, and had full plans of going to the Naval Academy and achieving my lifelong dream of becoming a Fighter Pilot. But, long story short, I met my future wife while in HS and allowed all my plans to fade away. Dont give me wrong, I wouldn't change the way that all worked out, and she did not purposely stop me, but I lost focus and let it slip away. I am now 27, married, have 3 AWESOME kids, and work as a Control Room Operator at a Coal Fired Power Plant. The pay is quite good and hard to walk away from.
So now I am trying to decide what my options are. I still dream of a career in aviation, I was born to fly and I dont want to just let life go by and find myself retired and wishing I had done things different.