Flying Job; how did you get your "break"?

NJP_MAN

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Shawn
I enjoy hearing storys about how commercial pilots get their "break". Did you instruct for a while then build time and apply for another job? Did you meet someone (another instructor or student) while instructing that you were able to grow your career with? Did your father own a small charter op that you started flying with?
How did you get your career rolling? Let's hear it.

12 yrs and over 3,800 hrs flying in the Army. Got my commercial through the typical crash course they give military aviators. Retired and applied for an EMS spot near family and got hired two weeks later. I've been Earning Money Sleeping for a couple years now and I am quite happy. :)

No one in my family flies and I currently work for a 121 airline.

PPL before college.

Got all my ratings and flight instructed while still in school.

Was the late 90s and big hiring then. I had worked up enough flight time to go to a regional after graduating college.

Sat out the fallout of 9/11 as a captain at the regional.

Sometime later when things turned around I went to a job fair where a bunch of the majors/major players were meet and greets. I wound up getting an interview at my current employer due to dropping off my resume with one of the recruiters at the fair. Passed the interview and here I am.

So, there's some drive (getting my ratings and instructing, upgrading ASAP at my company to get the quality time) and some luck (getting the interview).

That's the short version, anyway. Assuming you want a career flying, what do you want to do? There are pluses and minuses to any of the different career paths in aviation.

Last edited:
Got all the ratings & 4 year degree. Happened to be in the right place at the right time (or wrong place wrong time, depending on how I look back) and lucked into a non-CFI job to build time. Jumped to 135 once I had the ATP