Flying into Charolette (KCLT)

Reklats

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Reklats
I'm flying my wife and myself down to Charlotte next week for PASS Summit (http://www.sqlpass.org/summit/2013/Home.aspx). DA40/G1000 out of KMSN. Little long to do it non-stop so I was going to stop somewhere halfway and KOVO sounds as good as anything (still need to call and double check online information). Based on positive reviews on AirNav and a post on here, I'm planning on flying into KCLT. I've flown thru class B before (MSP) but this is my first time planning to land at the class B airport.

Does any have any experience they can share with flying into KCLT? I'll be on an IFR plan approaching from the North West and was looking at something like AZQ, HMV, BZM, MOPED/Vectors at 9,000 ft. If the there are low ceilings/precip and low freezing levels, any suggestions for VFR from the north west?

With the conference starting on Wednesday, we were going to fly down on Tuesday, but thankfully work is flexible and we could leave early to get down ahead of weather.

Thanks in advance.

I've heard it's a piece of cake. I've only flown over it a half dozen times or so on the way into Concord (KJQF).

Wilson rocks. KCLT is as benign of a Class Bravo as there is...

VFR or IFR operations into CLT are easy. There are ILS's everywhere...if you have to use one...Note on the VFR charts that there are some really tall towers to the WNW in a cluster.

I have no experience coming from the NW but ATC does everything possible to get you on the runway (18L/36R) right beside Wilson on the east side of the airport...ATC will work with you to get you in...

Rent a car through Wilson, it is typically 10-20 dollars a day cheaper than getting the car yourself...getting into downtown is two turns out of Wilson..