Flying for Work, kinda....

Rob Schaffer

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
CLR2TKF
Interesting situation popped up today at work. I was asked to go to Greenwich CT for a structural analysis of an existing building and survey. They said they have gone up before by train from Philadelphia to Stanford, rented a car, and drove down to Greenwich. The architect has driven before, about 3 1/2 hrs each way he stated. On the whim, I said I was a private pilot and that would only be an little more than an hour flight. :)

So,.. I'm not sure if it is allowed yet from a work standpoint, but I don't see any reason I can't fly up to HPN, get a ride or rental from there to the town to do my work, get back to the airport and fly from HPN back to Wings (LOM). I wouldn't be getting paid to fly up there, I'd be paying my own way that day, but I may be able to get reimbursed for some or all? of it? If I drove, they reimburse .56 cents per mile, which makes good 100LL money later. They would buy the train tickets and rent the car,...

Any thoughts on this?

I'm thinking a C172SP from KLOM, thru/over the NY Bravo? Or, if denied, up the West side of the Bravo and around the top, at 2700 across the top and getting clearance to HPN when I cross the river,.. seems like a good calling point.

Hopefully I can find out tomorrow, as there are still rentals available later this week and Mon/Tues next week.

If you're paying for the flying, its definitely allowed.
If they're helping you with any of the costs or covering the whole thing, I THINK it's still allowed. It certainly would be a much easier means of getting there! That seems like a perfect use of GA to me. Nothing pleases me more than flying over gridlocked traffic on my way somewhere! I hope it works out for you. You should certainly not use me as your authorizing source.