Fly-in restaurants

Hog_snipe

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Hog_snipe
I am looking for the best fly-in restaurants in the us. I am a airline pilot that has been out of the GA world for a while but getting back in. I do have a few requirements.
- All I see every day in the airline world are 10k foot runways and miles of pavement. So I prefer minimal pavement
- I would like the restaurants/airport to have some history, have been around for a while, or have a good story.
- last but not least the food has to be excellent.

The restaurants can be anywhere in the us or Alaska. My goal is to visit as many as possible over the next few years. Thanks to all who contribute for helping me on my journey!

7FL6 is good I think they have 4000 Downwind Cafe
KFIN is great (formerly KXFL) Highjackers Cafe
KLAL great restaurant but longer runways - but great food!

DOes it have to be on the field or small walk? If small walk KSSI

KPVG - decent restaurant there but when I was there they were slammed with one person doing it all...

KGMU - leave the FBO - walk about 5 minutes to a small hotel on the left - the restaurant is INCREDIBLE!!

Sorry here's another I just remembered W78 - Ernies Restaurant - also not on field but you call and the owner picks you up and drives you there and gives you a little tour of South Boston, VA - decent food as well!

Thanks, really appreciate your help. I would like it to be on the field. Let me know of any others you may think of.

Barnstormers Norfolk, Nebraska KOFK

http://www.barnstormersnebraska.com/

Great food and airplane atmosphere. Located in an old terminal building. Free pool table and pilot lounge area up stairs in the old control tower. Pull right up to the outside seating area.

Spitfire grill at WDR
Flying Machine at LZU
Downwind Restaurant at PDK
Gastons Restaurant at 3M0

Todd's at KRYN - quite good.
Hangar Cafe at KCHD - quite good.
KSEZ - can't remember the restaurant name, but really excellent.