Flight Training Questions

Em_chopper

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Em_chopper
Hi, I'm new to this forum.

I would like to begin flight training soon but I need some answers to a few question to help me decide the best route for my goal. Hopefully a few of you have been down this road before and can give me some helpful advice since I am completely new to this.

My goal is to become a career pilot. I would prefer to fly helicopters for a career and I have taken an intro flight and loved the experience. I would also like to get my fixed wing license since I intend to one day own an airplane.

I have been told it is less expensive to get my fixed wing licenses first then get the helicopter add-on. My question is How far should I go with the fixed wing training before getting my add-on? I need to keep the cost as low as possible. I was quoted roughly $35,000 to get training up to CFI for fixed wing. I have yet to get a quote for the heli add-on. I'm working on it. Quoted 70,000-90,000 from newbie to heli CFI depending on how fast I learn. But I don't have that kind of cash right now.

My friend works for someone that is a fixed wing CFI. He said he would be happy to train me. My concern about being trained by a school and especially privately is their safety records. Is there a way I can look up a schools or an individuals safety record? Also if I was privately trained by an individual CFI will I still be able to aquire the licenses I need to get? Will a future employer think of me the same way? Is it worth saving money being trained by an individual CFI?

I have also been told it would be worth buying an inexpensive airplane to aquire the hours I need in order to one day be hired, and these hours should also apply to the helicopter even though I will be aquiring these hours in a fixed wing aircraft. Maybe someone here can confirm this?

That's all for now. Thanks for your time.