Flight Plan Amendment with GTN 750

the400kid

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
FLAAV8R
I'm relatively new to the GTN and was wondering the proper way to handle amendments.

Let's say for example that I'm on a flight plan from KPSC with the routing SUNED, GUBSE, BTG direct KHIO.

I'm between SUNED and GUBSE when ATC calls "Cessna 123X, I have an amendment to your flight plan. Following GUBSE join Victor 448 to Battle Ground direct.

My question is, with the original flight plan already programmed, how should the routing be changed to reflect intercepting V448?

You would open the flight plan page, tap GUBSE, select "add after", enter the VOR and then "load airway". Page 32 of the cockpit reference guide.

You would open the flight plan page, tap GUBSE, select "add after", enter the VOR and then "load airway". Page 32 of the cockpit reference guide.

When I do that in the simulator, by adding YKM (the GTN needs to VOR's in order to load an airway) after GUBSE and then loading airway (V448), it's taking me up to YKM from GUBSE. The ATC instruction was to "join".

In that situation, I would possibly use the rubber-banding feature on the map page. First, make sure airways are turned on in the Map Overlays....then once you start to drag the map, an option to graphically edit FPL appears. Select that then adjust the route. Done.

Your MEA would then become 14,500!

Last edited:
Why do you need the GTN to show your exact course?

Insert YKM V448 BTG. Fly a HEADING to intercept.

Unless GUBSE were on V448, the heading must be part of your intercept clearance. If it isn't, make one up (say, 260) and read it back.

The MEA isn't always the lowest altitude. You can be vectored below it. Though V448 goes right over Mt. Adams, so that's not very likely.

What about joining V448 at ANGOO?

What about joining V448 at ANGOO?
Then your amended clearance would contain ANGOO.