Flight Lessons For Barter?

brooklyn26point2

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
brooklyn26point2
Hi everyone, After following this site for a while and pining for flight lessons, decided it was time to pee (first draft had this word deleted) or get off the pot. Would love to take flight lessons toward a PPL, but the few shreds of fiscal prudence that I do possess keep that from happening, probably for the better (I work on social policy in the public sector and am about to pursue a PhD, making flight lessons increasingly unaffordable).

That said, my desire to fly has not disappeared. So, have you heard of CFI's willing to barter for flight time? More specifically, especially if someone here would have any interest or knows someone that would - I possess skills valued only by a niche of the population. Most notably, I am an experienced running coach (can get into details in a separate conversation). I can also do just about any statistical analysis that you can think of or ask for. Not terribly valuable skills should there be a zombie apocalypse, but perhaps someone here has a need for a quantitative analysis of their marathon training. Can be very flexible, would just love to get in the flight time.

If anyone here has any interest at all or knows someone that may, either respond here or shoot me a private message. Thanks!

Even if you get an instructor to trade skills. Someone still has to pay for the gas/classroom (ie; the airplane) Doubt any instructor is going to do that...

Good Luck...

Appy for work at a flight school. They may offer an employee rate in exchange for working a few hours a week in unskilled labors.

Thank you all for the recommendations. FlySince9, would definitely be willing to discuss covering fuel, oil, etc.

And, did not know about the soaring clubs. Will look into them.

Thanks again.

Hey running coaches can make good money if you market right =)

Best of luck to you!