First trip - IPT to NYC Area

Ted

The pilot formerly known as Twin Engine Ted
Display Name

Display name:
iFlyNothing
Those of you who've read Missa's thread know that I am now a private pilot, and can exercise the privileges thereof. So, now I am looking for some advice here. A bit of a story first.

One of the priests at my church back in Manhattan who has been with us for 12 years is moving back to England. She's been great to everyone, and so we want to wish her a fond farewell. Today was her last Sunday. While talking to her, I told her I got my pilot's license, and then asked if she'd like to go flying next weekend for a bit before she left, which she was very enthusiastic about. She lives in Manhattan and has no car.

I have flown right seat around the New York area out of Republic, so I am somewhat familiar with how busy it is. Radio work I tend to be decent at, and I've used flight following and talked to ATC enough times that I'm comfortable with it.

I am looking to figure out an airport to fly into that either she can easily meet me at or that I can rent a car and drive in to get her at, and then bring her up to take her flying. I'm thinking that my best options are HPN or FRG. FRG I know ends up being a bit of a treck to get to either by train or car from Manhattan, so I am thinking HPN might be the better choice.

Can anyone give me general advice or suggestions on things I need to know, FBOs to consider (a loaner car at an FBO would be great, but I don't mind renting one. Hertz is preferable for that), since I know a number of people on here do fly out of HPN especially. I am looking at doing this flight on Friday with a backup day of Sunday. I'll probably take the Archer for the trip, assuming I can get the time out of my instructor to check me out in it.