first solo x_country nerves

eric_ocean

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
osprey1
im a pp-asel student pilot, toward the end of my training....last sunday i did my first solo x-country ..all went fine, but things moved along fast....marking my times with check points became tuff and then i hit a cloud formation and had to lower, fortunatly i was near the destination airport but had to get a vector to the airport from ATC the fine fellows at KILM....
This sunday im doining a much longer one with two stops, its got me a bit nervous...maybe there are others like me out there....just gota remember my training, but cant help but to be concerned...
thanks for listening ....eric

Sounds like you're doing fine, Eric. I suspect everybody gets some jitters on their first solo x-c flights -- I know I did.

One of the reasons they make you do the solo x-c's is that they will build confidence -- the more you do, the more confident you'll feel. Relax and enjoy them!

I agree with Bob. It sounds like you did just fine. It's not a sign of weakness to ask for help when you need it. You did what you needed to do to get to your destination and get the plane on the ground. Great job.

Do this next flight and you'll see how much easier it will come to you.

Keep it up...you're so close now!

Make sure you're trimmed or if you're still climbing or manuvering, just remember the time until you are in a better position to make a note. Nothing says you have to mark the time right when you hit the checkpoint ;)

Remember your first job is to fly the airplane. If you find yourself putting other tasks in front of that job, you need to reprioritize, and any DE will know this (some may even try to throw you off with distractions and WANT you to tell them to wait a minute). You did fine in your XC though, and I'm sure you'll do fine in your long XC :) Good luck!