First Solo! - 18 years after my first logbook entry

V1-Vr-V2

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
V1-Vr-V2
8/17/95 is the first entry in my logbook, 1.0 hr intro flight around KGRI. I was 15 at the time and pursuing this crazy dream to be a pilot. But, life happened and flying had to take a back seat to other priorities. In total, I logged 8.6 hours that summer before hanging up the headset.

Fast forward to February 2002 and I logged another handful of hours at KLNK. At that time, I was a college sophomore and an aviation major and looking forward to a career behind a yoke. But, I would soon realize that in a post-9/11 world, my dream job might not be as much a dream as I had hoped. I changed majors, graduated with a business degree, and proceeded to not log any time for the next 11 years as life's priorities shifted and were reordered; jobs, girlfriends, which gave way to a wife, which led to kids, etc. etc.

Smash cut to March of this year and a Living Social deal for a local independent CFI with a pretty well equipped, "classic" PA-28-180 Cherokee pops up in my inbox. Now, compared to my college days, I had [slightly more] free time, [much more] disposable income, and a job that gave me the flexibility to take the required time off. So, with only moderate objection from the wife, I went for it.

And here I am - a few months later, the day after my first solo. In fact, I was "ready" for solo according to my CFI's signoff a month and a half ago but travel schedules and the ever-changing Colorado weather conspired against me on at least a half-dozen possible solo candidate days. So, instead of soloing where I typically would earlier on in training, we went the route of finishing most of my required training (dual XC - done, night flights - done, towered airports - done, IFR time - done, etc.) with the goal of getting the solo in when all forces aligned and I finally got a relatively nice day.