First icy runways during IFR training last night...

Hobobiker

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Hobo
On a good note, I had a great IFR training flight, nailed my glide slope and localizer better than I ever have before and even hit the right speeds this time - all right down to the minimums at KLBE before doing a touch-and-go. I'm an IFR newbie, so those little things excite me when I do them right! The interesting thing for me was that the runways were snow/ice and that was a first. It turned out to be a non-event, as my CFI probably knew beforehand, but I was sweating it a little. Both landings were very smooth (for me), so my GF told me later only half-sarcastically that I was probably cushioned by all that snow and ice. The full-stop back home was an exercise in using caution with the brakes so I let her roll a while longer than usual but, again, nothing bad.

I think the worst part was making sure my wings didn't hit any of the plowed snowdrifts on either side of the taxiways...

At any rate, I get to chalk up another 1.4 hours of hood time and add to my approach count...

Sounds like a good evening of flying! If you have wheel pants be careful of taxing through them. They could be ice, ask me how I know. :rolleyes2:

Congrats, learning to fly in new conditions (or land) keeps the flying interesting. Just remember limit or dont use brakes on icy runway and fly the plane during taxi.

I will never forget meeting the examiner for my Instrument check ride on the runway day before Christmas. As we both stood there and looked down we could see the runway markings under 2" of clear ice. Apparently the snow had melted and re-froze multiple times thru out the week. I was thinking this was a trick and he was waiting for me to re-schedule or I would fail.
SO when he asked me what I thought and should we go my response was "we have 4000' of runway and calm winds so I'm comfortable" (Its Michigan in winter, so this was not unusual)