First BFR due this summer. Suggestions?

jpower

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
James
I've been flying for nearly three years now. First year as a sport pilot, then private for the next (nearly) two. So now I get to decide what to do for my first BFR! It's due in August, so I have some time, but I'm going to be out of the country not flying for eight weeks starting this weekend. I'll either be doing it in the DC area or in SE Michigan (as close to ARB as possible) in the last week of August. I'd like to do something fun without breaking the bank toooo too much.

I've been thinking about doing a SES rating just for kicks, but I'm not sure where would be best. I've found these guys (http://chesapeakeseaplanes.net/Cheasapeake Seaplanes - Instruction Information.htm), but I know next to nothing about it. Or the rating as a whole, for that matter. Is getting the SES rating a good thing to do for a BFR? And is there anywhere to rent floatplanes/amphibs after getting the rating?

Another possibility is a taildragger endorsement, but I know even less about that than I know about flying on floats. How long does it usually take? ("It depends!" I hear you cry. How about average ish? I'm a young guy so I like to think that I'm likely to catch on quickly.) The flight school near me in DC rents a Champ, and there's one at ARB that rents a Citabria, so I have access in both places.

...which brings us to aerobatics. As much as I'd love to do aerobatics for my BFR, it's not happening quite yet. I'm still a dependant on my parents' taxes (even though I pay for all my own flying), and as long as that's the case, there's no way I'm going inverted. I've tried to reason with them, but they don't fly, so it's a lot harder.