First Backcountry Destination

Bill35

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Bill35
Hey ya'll I am a new pilot (100hrs). I have a Cessna 182 and would like to dip my toe into some more back country flying. I am based out of Kansas and would love to take a trip this fall/winter to someplace where I can park the plane and just take off hiking and camp for several days. I don't have a ton of experience with grass strips so would prefer to stay on something paved. I know this sounds kinda boring for most of you but gotta start somewhere. I have been looking around the Arkansas area but I am open to other recommendations. Thanks!

I gotta say, my suggestion would be to stay in Kansas and spend a couple flights getting comfortable with grass before trying to do anything camping related. I airplane camp a fair bit and I think I can count on two fingers the number of times I've camped someplace with a paved runway. And both of those were overnights on my way to or from places with more interesting camping.

In any case, here's a good resource for airplane camping.

Many of the good back country flying & camping spots are in remote rugged terrain. I'd also recommend mountain flying courses (whether in person or online from a reliable source), bone up on DA computations & procedures, and hone those soft and short field skills.

Hey ya'll I am a new pilot (100hrs). I have a Cessna 182 and would like to dip my toe into some more back country flying. I am based out of Kansas and would love to take a trip this fall/winter to someplace where I can park the plane and just take off hiking and camp for several days. I don't have a ton of experience with grass strips so would prefer to stay on something paved. I know this sounds kinda boring for most of you but gotta start somewhere. I have been looking around the Arkansas area but I am open to other recommendations. Thanks!