Finicky Plane Engines.....Why not a proven Auto?

sheldon957

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Sheldon957
I state right off the bat that I know almost nothing about the conversion procedures that would have to take place, but most approved engines are finicky at best. Ever try Hot starts with Conti & Lyc? Weight would be one consideration, but VW, corvair & Porsche are all finicky too.

I know for the majority you would have to have liquid cooling, but say a smooth running Lexus V8 that never breaks down, and can go forever it seems. I don't know if the computer can calibrate appropriately for higher altitudes?

I have seen where they used a corvette engine in a copy of a P51.

How hard, & why not in an experimental?

often, auto engines have proven to be finicky plane engines. i have no experience flying behind an engine that wasnt designed for an airplane. ive heard good and bad.

One reason may be that aircraft engines run close to 100% at all times versus an auto engine which much runs less than 50% almost all the time. I haven't seen auto engine life span if operated as an aircraft engine but it MAY be a reason. Just thinking out loud here.

Last edited:
kevin, i think thats a big part of it, plus the RPMs where cars get the most power are way too high for props to turn, so then you have to deal with gearing to get the prop RPMs down to reasonable values. its just easier to have an engine that was actually designed for the operation it is being used for.

Ha!

Toyota wishes they built an engine as stout and reliable as a Continental or Lycoming.

Fact is, car engines (like, for example, a Lexus V8, or even better, a Cadillac Northstar V8 or a Corvette engine) are really great stuff, run reliably for 100,000 and more, but they spend nearly that entire time at something on the order of 15% of their rated power output. Given the duty cycle that the typical aircraft engine endures, most car engines would not last 200 hours.