Financial Aid?

Botskys

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Botskys
I visited my flight school in over a year and a half since the last time I last took a lesson. I stopped b/c my wife and I were expecting our first child. I am a truck driver but all I think about is flying. I would like to finance the rest of my training they told me it would cost about $13,000 to finish. Does anyone know any company's that offer good rates? I know about pilot finance but they cost too much. Any help or advice would be great.

Hi,

First solo in a powered aircraft was only achieved at 50 years old in my case.

Had to first get the kids educated etc. .... !!

What return are you expecting - instruction ?

Priorities are up to each individual.

Regards
John

Drive as many miles as you can and pinch pennies to save what you need. There is zero reason to go into debt for a hobby.

never finance a hobby. set up a savings plan. Work additional jobs (short term and long term). Find less expensive sources for training.

$13k for private license?? Someone must be making PT Barnum happy. Keep digging. There are much less expensive opportunities (such as clubs) where you can get the budget down to $8000.

Again, avoid financing a hobby. Save until you have a about 2/3's the budget saved, and continue to save while you start the flying.

Concur on the above.

There might be reason to borrow for a career...however, look long and hard at aviation return on investment before you go down that road.

never finance a hobby. set up a savings plan. Work additional jobs (short term and long term). Find less expensive sources for training.

$13k for private license?? Someone must be making PT Barnum happy. Keep digging. There are much less expensive opportunities (such as clubs) where you can get the budget down to $8000.

Again, avoid financing a hobby. Save until you have a about 2/3's the budget saved, and continue to save while you start the flying.