Field overhaul on my IO-540's?

stratobee

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
stratobee
I'm not new to twin ownership, but I am new to my Aerostar. I got it cheap, knowing the engines were run out. In California where they levy a 9% user tax when you buy, it makes more sense to get in cheaper then upgrade then buy all dolled up. Engines are 300hrs over TBO. This doesn't scare me per se, and I fly it (as they don't make metal), but they do burn oil. Which would suggest the tops are bad, as they engines are clean and have no oil leaks. However, it doesn't make sense to do a top overhaul on a 2100hr engine.

I have gotten some quotes in, one from Heart Of Texas Engines for $21995. As I understood it, this included all accessories and the mags, but with overhauled cylinders and reusing as much as possible after NDT. Turbos obviously not included. This is a nice price, but I was wondering if there are some mom & pop A/P shops that have even less overhead and can offer a lower price? I want to avoid big shops if I can.

Does anyone have any recommendations in this regard where I could get a quote in? I'm based in So Cal, so ideally some leads on the west coast would be great. I would be willing to owner assist if this helps the price come down.

Last edited:
You've got some high power engines that are known for being worked hard. I'm assuming you want the overhaul to last a long time, like to TBO and beyond..

A mom-and-pop shop can do a good job, but it will reduce your resale value and you may or may not have good results. The variety is huge. When I'm looking at a plane, I pay attention to who did the engines and what limits they were overhauled to. You want new limits like we had our 520s overhauled to.

You also want new factory cylinders. New Lycoming cylinders virtually always make it to TBO without problem. I haven't seen an aftermarket Lycoming cylinder that's worked very well, especially on a high-power Aerostar engine.