Female matters-Menopause, PMS and other temporary insanity

U

Unregistered

Problems with depression, etc. related to menopause and/or PMS and for which a doctor might temporarily prescribe antidepressants...what sort of impact might that have on a student pilot going on to certify?

I know there are other female pilots who have dealt with these issues, I would like to hear from you as well. I don't want to do any antidepressant drugs at all, but I have to do something since things have just gone out of control in that department lately. (I am not quite 50.)

Thanks in advance for advice, insight, etc.

in hormone hell

Well, I am not a doctor and do not pretend to be one, so I hope Dr. Bruce will chime in on the subject of anti-depressants. And also everything posted below with "quotes" around it should be read as an "interpretation" and not as a regulatory opinion.
Now, disclaimers aside, other posts on this forum have advised that anti-depressants, anti-anxiety, attention-deficit, and similar drugs are all "prohibited" by the FAA. So before you take anything you might visit the FAA website and try to find the list of accepted and non-accepted drugs to be sure whatever is prescribed to you is OK and will not jeopardize your medical status.
Other suggestions that have been posted in previous months include a conversation with the medical folks at AOPA (if you are not a member you should join) to develop a course of action. I would also try to find a female AME in your area (again, they are listed on the FAA website) so you don't get the "it's all in your head" type of response from the docs. If you have trouble finding one try your local 99s chapter for a recommendation.