• Fired for cause

Votes: 28 23.0%

• Total voters

docmirror

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Cowboy - yeehah!
I have been chastised for opining that the SWA pilots be fired for cause. What say you. I realize we are all human, and I've made plenty of mistakes before as well. I'm not a pro pilot, but would like to get the collective wisdom of the industry. Realizing that this will be skewed because we are mostly all pilots in this forum.

This has nothing to do with the FAA enforcement/actions at all, just the industry.

General Presumptions:
1. Airplane not broke
2. Airport not broke
3. Crew trained, and certified for the job they attained(ATP, major airline, current in type, good medical, etc)

Can't vote ,my choice would be suspended while investigating cause.

I have been chastised for opining that the SWA pilots be fired for cause. What say you. I realize we are all human, and I've made plenty of mistakes before as well. I'm not a pro pilot, but would like to get the collective wisdom of the industry. Realizing that this will be skewed because we are mostly all pilots in this forum.

This has nothing to do with the FAA enforcement/actions at all, just the industry.

General Presumptions:
1. Airplane not broke
2. Airport not broke
3. Crew trained, and certified for the job they attained(ATP, major airline, current in type, good medical, etc)

None of the above: I believe they will be:

1. Suspended
  2. Investigated
  3. If no other past gross operating errors are found, retrained.
  4. And returned to service after suspension/training

It takes one h*ll of a pilot to successfully land a 737 in 3738 feet

1. Suspended
  2. Investigated
I think that's fairly accurate. But #3 will be more like "no gross operating errors in this incident", and getting past #3 will be hard for an air carrier crew that landed at the wrong airport. Not much forgiveness in an industry which by law must deliver "the highest degree of foresight and care humanly possible".