Fatal in Hayden Feb 19, 2012

KHDN is honestly more benign than many in the hills, but the vis and the overall weather pattern was "intense snow". I believe I posted that they got 27" in a single day, down the road a bit at the ski area, right? Ski area numbers are always a little "padded" so Tony can comment on the actual amount, but it was significant. That's a full blown (pun intended) winter storm you're flying into there Bucky...

I always cringe when I see the "pros" pop up in the threads about flying up there and with bravado say they've "flown in worse" while in the exact same post pointing out that they'd be illegal to fly the approach under 135. There seems to be a touch of that killer, "I'm a REAL pilot" attitude in those posts. People with nice gear like a 414 who already probably have a bit of machismo themselves, read that stuff and think... "My bird can handle that", even when THEY can't, and smear themselves all over the side of a mountain.

There's a point where you just wait it out somewhere warm and dry. Yesterday was a day like that.

I haven't looked at today's wind numbers up there, but judging by the wind down here this morning, you'd have wanted to wait until after noonish/1PMish to launch out of Denver that direction today, too. The weather systems that produce the big snows are usually 24 hour events... and once the plows clear the runways and taxiways, you're often looking at a gorgeous sunny day with mountains of snow piled up next to the runways and taxiways and VERY smooth air for flying.