FAA requested info a year after class 3 issued

NLRairmen

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
NLRairmen
Hello,

First post here. I was issued a class 3 medical a year ago and have a private pilot checkride coming up next month. I am a surgeon and take a beta blocker on occasion for microscope work to reduce natural tremor. I disclosed this to the AME and he said no worries and issued me the class 3.

I just got a letter from the FAA saying they needed additional information (a progress note with details from my treating physician). They said it was due to my history of “essential tremor,” which I have never been diagnosed with but must appear on the AME report as the reason for the medication. It says the progress note has to be less than 90 days before the AME exam, but I’ve already done the AME exam and already have a copy of my class 3.

I can go get an exam by a neurologist and get a progress note to the FAA no problem within the 60 days, but what does this mean for my current class 3 and my upcoming checkride? I just don’t understand how I can be holding an active class 3 and this letter saying they need this info to issue a class 3 at the same time:/

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

Your medical is still in effect; respond with the information asked within timeframe given.

The FAA doesn’t believe in the concept of off-label use, so if you listed the medication and it’s used to treat tremors, that’s what they assume and will want a current medical update using their guidelines at time of application. If that decision is made after issuance, they’ll ask you to provide a amplifying information on demand and it must be current relative to their demand demand date.

FAA guidelines on what a current, detailed clinical progress note means: