Explain Turbo Normalized

AggieMike88

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
Being from the automotive industry, I understand the concept of superchargers and turbochargers, including what they do and how they work.

But looking at various aircraft, I encounter the term "Turbo Normalized". What is that and why would I want it on an aircraft?

I'm no expert, but in a nutshell turbo-normalizing will keep sea level manifold pressure (30 inches or so) on the engine up to a certain altitude. Basically you can get more power higher up without boosting the engine (40 inches or whatever) like a super charger will do.

The objective is not to boost the manifold pressure beyond normal sea level values, but to maintain sea level manifold pressures at altitude.

So you don't get more takeoff power (at sea level) but you can maintain power / cruise speeds at altitude and you don't increase the loads on the engine that boosting beyond sea level pressure causes.

Yup, the wastegate(if automatic) is set to provide an aneroid controlled manifold pressure of 29.92" at the intake and will maintain that to critical altitude dependent on when the wastegate is fully closed. At that point, further climb reduces MP just like a non turbo plane.

You want it because it provides extra power at altitude to go faster. Usually critical altitude is somewhere around 8-12k' Imagine having sea level power of 180HP at 10k'. Also good if you operate in high altitudes where take off power is important.

If one has the opportunity of putting either on their engine, which is the better selection? TN or TC?

If one has the opportunity of putting either on their engine, which is the better selection? TN or TC?

TN is better from an efficiency perspective if it produces the same power. It will require less boost and typically uses high compression to produce the power. That's why you're seeing TN pop up in these newer planes.