Excel Logbook

drizzt76

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Scott M.
I'm just about done entering 4 years of flight data in a Excel workbook that I made. I'm new to Excel and this project taught me much about formulas and basic functions. I'm looking for ideas or other suggestions/comments about using Excel as a logbook. I will maintain my Sporty's paper logbook for signatures from instructors and as a backup. So far I found small errors in my math and my Excel logbook is so much more efficient. So far its been a worth while project.

Have you tried putting it into a pivot-table? You can pull info you want and automatically total time in type, etc. etc. I've just been introduced to pivottables this summer. Pretty handy little tool.

Oh yeah.. And Access is the best database ever invented. ;) :D :D

You could try this.

Attachments

• PilotFlightLog.zip
    64.3 KB · Views: 48
I'm just about done entering 4 years of flight data in a Excel workbook that I made. I'm new to Excel and this project taught me much about formulas and basic functions. I'm looking for ideas or other suggestions/comments about using Excel as a logbook. I will maintain my Sporty's paper logbook for signatures from instructors and as a backup. So far I found small errors in my math and my Excel logbook is so much more efficient. So far its been a worth while project.
Good for you. What a major enterprise that is. (Assuming you are getting more than a few hours per year.) Congratulations on learning some new skills and finding a really practical use for them.

You could try this.
Really a good-looking application. Simple, easy to understand, clean. After just a couple of minutes of testing, I failed to crash it. (You'd be surprised how many -even simple- applications can be crashed in two minutes.)

The guy that put it together, not me, gives it away. I don't have the url for it but a little searching will turn it up. I've been using it for a little bit now.