EU-certified instructor / AME ?

pilarew

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
PW
I am a private pilot with a European license, now living in the San Francisco Bay Area. As a holder of that license I have to do the equivalent of a BFR every 2 years and of course get a medical.

The airmen certification authorities in Germany have told me that both my checkride and my medical need to be done by an EU-authorized flight instructor and an EU-authorized AME respectively. Documentation from am FAA-certified officials are not accepted.

Does anyone on this forum know if there is a list of EU-certified AMEs based in the US (preferably in Northern California) and also if there is a list of EU-certified CFIs? Or would anyone know where I could try to find one of each of these? I am sure that I am not the only European pilot who has this issue... what do you others do?

Thanks very much!

This fellow in Phoenix seems to be authorized as an AME by EASA. (His site says JAA, but it hasn't been updated in five years.)

As for the BFR, I'd search around for flight schools that offer training to EASA standards. There are many of them around. If they're targeting students who are training for EU licenses, presumably they'd have a few EU-authorized CFIs hanging around.

Rich

I may not be totally familiar with your EU pilot certificate. How are you flying US N registered aircraft? Do you have a US FAA certificate based on your EU certificate?

Yes the FAA certificate would require you to keep your EU medical current. I did not realize you also need to keep the flight review current. A US flight review would also be required? Of course if you could find an EU instructor here, he could sign off both in one flight?

Each EASA country has its own list of AMEs, but most of the EASA AMEs outside of Europe seem to be UK AMEs. Here's the list of UK AMEs outside of the UK. Dr. Bryman's the closest one to California.