Engine Monitors - 2 Years Later

murphey

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
murphey
The last discussion Insight v JPI v EI was in 2009. Two years in technology is a long time, almost an entire generation.

With the O360 going in for overhaul in a month or so, it's time to decide which one to order. Anyone have really strong opinions for/against any specific unit?

I've had both the US8A by EI and the 700EDM with fuel flow by JPI. At first I preferred the EI, but the JPI has grown on me, and I prefer it now.

The 310 has a JPI EDM 760 in it, which I've been using for the past 6 months or so. The Aztec has an Insight Gemini 1200 in it, which I've been using for a year and a half.

I prefer the JPI.

I have a JPI 830 in my 182 and like it. Because the installation cost is such a high portion of the total install I'd go for the unit with the most capability now as a difference in cost of a thousand for the unit does not mean much when the overall project is likely to run 5 or 6 k. I cannot stress enough how important getting the fuel flow option is. If you have a GPS the 830 interfaces with it and can give you fuel information for your flight plan.

I cannot stress enough how important getting the fuel flow option is. If you have a GPS the 830 interfaces with it and can give you fuel information for your flight plan.