Does no complication tonsil removal at age 7 count as "surgery"

U

Unregistered

Hello All,

I am currently undergoing treatment for gastro-intestinal issues that will most likely require a deferral and special issuance when I renew in awhile. I remember while filling out the patient questionnaire at the GI's that I had my tonsils removed when I was age 7 (or whereabouts). That was in the early '80's.

I was told that was “not a surgery” when I was a student pilot, many medicals ago, and did not list it as a surgery. I have not thought anything of it until now, but as I go through these posts looking at the SI and medical process in general, I am afraid I made a mistake by not putting it on the form originally.

The pediatrician who did the removal and all my records of it are all long gone. I don't even know the exact date of the removal, and can supply no further information on it.

First question: If you get your tonsils removed, without complication, at age 7, is that a “surgery” per the form 8500-8 question 18.X?

Second question: Assuming the mention of the tonsils being removed show up in my SI paperwork (records from my GI), and I have to put “Tonsils, Age 7” as a surgery and it is not listed in my previous medical forms, am I risking my medical?

What are your recommendation/thoughts on this? What is the best thing to do?

Thanks in advance for the advice.

I always put it down from the beginning, along with "various sutures" - but I don't think they'll call you a "liar-liar-pants-on-fire" if you put it down as "childhood tonsillectomy" on your next medical. If you have to answer why you didn't report it, just say you misunderstood how far back you needed to go.

And then for all subsequent medicals, you check the "yes" box and put "previously reported, no change".