Does AOPA hire anyone to work in GA airport advocacy?

N918KT

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
KT
Hello all. At one point or another, I considered working for AOPA because I really want to support GA and GA airports.

As you may know, I got a bachelors degree in aviation administration and most of my course work in college relates to airport management and how airports run. I am also planning to seek accreditation from AAAE as a Certified Member, which will expand my knowledge in airport management.

On AOPA's website, I noticed that in addition to the thousands of AOPA Airport Support Network volunteers, there are also airport regional managers for each U.S. region. I am wondering if there is a way to work for AOPA in GA airport advocacy or if they offer some kind of job in GA airport advocacy?

I know a guy who worked for AOPA doing just that years ago. He's the manager at an airport in VA now. I have no idea how he got the job, and we weren't in contact when he did it.

Just be aware that the internal politics and operations of membership non-profits are completely and distinctly different than corporations. Yes, AOPA hires some folks from time to time, I've met a few folks that worked there at one time or another.

They have regional government affairs managers who are basically lobbyists for AOPA. They are broken down into 7 regions (see here: http://www.aopa.org/Advocacy/Airports-and-State-Advocacy.aspx). I have met their west region lobbyist (who covers CA, HI, NV, and AZ) on a couple of occasions because I also hail from that slimy profession. So if you're interested in being a real advocate for them, you have 7 regions to potentially choose from, but I presume the competition is stiff.

Just be aware that the internal politics and operations of membership non-profits are completely and distinctly different than corporations ...