DCIS 0 and given 3rd Class?

U

Unregistered

I'm a new student pilot who just went for the 3rd class medical. I also recently discovered I have DCIS (Ductal Carcinoma in Situ stage 0). I'm planning to have surgery to remove it and possibly radiation to prevent recurrence.

Anyway, I just had my physical with an AME. I put all the information on the forms and told him when he asked about it that I had all the documentation and didn't mind waiting for a special issuance because I'm not flying solo yet and won't be for a while. He seemed confused and didn't seem to understand what breast cancer really was at all. He didn't seem to read the paperwork carefully either. I kept telling him I had documentation to send for special issuance and didn't mind but he wasn't sure if he needed to and ended up calling someone at the FAA. They talked and he decided to issue my medical without further documentation.

I had asked my regular doctor who said my treatment shouldn't affect my flying ability because the cancer has not spread and the only thing is I shouldn't fly until my surgical wound heals to where I feel comfortable to do strenuous activities. So, the AME freaking out and then letting it all go worried me. I did some research and it looks like the FAA looks at breast cancer as a special issuance and now I think the AME should have probably deferred and let me send my documents because a special issuance very likely not be a problem. So, now I just got a 3rd class medical but I'm worried that I may have trouble later with renewal or even revocation because this doctor didn't seem to know what he was doing.

I just realized he also forgot to take the urine sample... ugh.