Dating Your Flight Instructor?

U

Unregistered

First of all, I know this is not related to flying, but I really want to post this anonymously. If needed, I will happily delete it.

Alright, now on to the conundrum...
I am a Private Pilot and I did not do any primary training with this flight instructor. In late September of this year, I started working on my tailwheel endorsement with her. Getting the tailwheel is taking longer than I anticipated (I was planning on being signed-off at the end of October).
Anyway, my plan was to bring up my desire to date AFTER the tailwheel endorsement, so that it would have no bearing on my training. It's hard to wait for many reasons. For example, recently, she expressed to me that she was really needing a man in her life...

At the rate I'm going, I don't think I will be getting the tailwheel endorsement until Christmas. It's getting harder and harder to wait, but some days I just want to tell her how I feel.

Any instructors out there had a student show a romantic interest in you? What happened? Did everything get awkward?

I never dated my flight instructor, but I did about halfway through my training rent a room in a townhouse he bought. Made it convenient to get my XC signoffs (the staff at the FBO could never understand how I'd make 8AM departures when they knew Dale didn't get up that early).

If she is complaining about her love life to you, you are already friendzoned. No escape from that pit. Time to find another one, there are plenty. And stop being an emotional tampon for the ladies, that will get you nowhere.

You are already used to taking instructions from her, so your training for a personal future is well underway. If you can put the toilet seat down and keep your feet off the couch, I would say you have completed the boyfriend endorsement.

Good luck.

Yes.

We started dating after she soloed, and got married a week after she passed her PP practical test.