Data in Mexico, Guatemala & Caribbean

Painter1

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Mike K
using Foreflight, I see the Low IFR charts but, as this is our first trip out of US with this program am not sure if we will be able to see accurate GPS position on IPad or how much data to expect the program to use per hour. Need to purchase a data plan.

I am also studying how the Garmin 530 will behave.

Any help in those regards is welcome. Thanks.

I have flown the Caribbean and Latin America for many years. I buy a Jepp trip kit for the areas I am operating in. I was using a KLN 94 and had no data except for US possessions. I just put a 750 and declined the Jepp data due to unlock costs. Jepp has the data in paper which is kind of a pain but complete info. I have found you need the SIDs and STARS because of language problems and weak radio signals. I am assuming you will be flying instruments. You also need the Jepps to learn about entry requirements. Most places in Latin require prior approval (Guatemala in particular). Mexico has become a real paperwork nightmare. you can get some additional information by joining the Baja Pilots. If you do not speak or understand Spanish it is best to have all your ducks lined up in advance. You can check fuel prices on Foreflight and AirNav for some locations and sometimes they have additional information. Get the Jepp trip kit in your hands at least two weeks before takeoff as you need lead time for prior approvals. Good Luck!

Mexico has become a real paperwork nightmare. you can get some additional information by joining the Baja Pilots.

I am based in Mexico and totally disagree that it's become a paperwork nightmare. Yes, you have to file a flight plan for every flight. Yes, you have to get it stamped by 2-3 people. Yes, that's more than you have to do in the US.

Totally disagree that those facts rise to the level of "nightmare".