Cured by the sight of treetops.

KeithASanford

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MyTurnToFly
My name is Keith and I'm a husband, father and one day, a pilot. Oh, and nothing's going to stop me.

I'm completely new to this idea of learning to fly. I had no dreams as a kid of flying fighters in the military, or getting a job with the airlines. I didn't solo at 16, as a matter of fact, I had a pretty healthy(or unhealthy) fear of flying until I decided to tackle it by going up(against my better judgement at the time) in a Cessna 172 with a friend. My first time in an aircraft that didn't have a bathroom was at the tender age of 47.

Freaked out by what I now know to be mild turbulence(hot day, rough skies) I calmed myself with prayer and bargaining(God, if you spare me this time..."). I happened to look out a window and saw one of the most incredible things I had ever seen....treetops. I was instantly changed. The fear was quickly replaced with the desire to visit those treetops again.

I got some great advice once about how to stay focused and centered on any endeavor by keeping at the forefront of my mind how little I know and working hard to surround myself with people who are smarter than I am. That pretty much sums up why I'm here. I'm also here because God is gracious and I am in a great place in my life that I can begin to plan to visit those treetops on my own terms one day through means that I will eventually define as reasonable aircraft ownership. (I do understand there's a real chance that there's no such thing.) I also understand learning to fly is first so my main focus is lessons that will begin in January.

Happy Holidays everyone! With any luck my New Year will be filled with adventure.

Great to hear another one in training, you will really like this forum, great people here with great advise and real word suggestions on your questions.. I just started as well so enjoy the trip..