Crosswind component?

signu127

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Sig-Nu
I know all are different but what does the manufacturer of the plane do to determine the wind speed? Are you NOT supposed to break it? Is it frowned upon? I am sure there is a safety margin in there...how much over the component is probably still within the limits of the plane and most importantly as a pilot should you have your own limits set? I am a 30 hour student and have about 70 touch n go's with 20+ crosswinds. It has been my favorite part of training so far.

Thanks!

Breaking the max crosswind your plane is designed for is a big no no. Just look in the POH and there will a graph where you can compute and figure out what the crosswinds will be like during a landing which ever RWY you will be landing on at the airport your going to.

For me, anything close to max crosswinds for the diamond 20 AC i usually fly or the diamond 40 is a no go for any flying.

It's a maximum DEMONSTRATED crosswind component. i.e. It's most amount of crosswind they bothered to find and land in.

Do what you're comfortable with, know how to go around.

IMHO the max crosswind the plane can land in would be limited by the amount of correction it takes to keep the wing off the ground.

Last edited:
Breaking the max crosswind your plane is designed for is a big no no. Just look in the POH and there will a graph where you can compute and figure out what the crosswinds will be like during a landing which ever RWY you will be landing on at the airport your going to.

For me, anything close to max crosswinds for the diamond 20 AC i usually fly or the diamond 40 is a no go for any flying.

You must cancel a lot of flights :dunno:

I think I'm more worried about taxing in the Diamond 20 than landing with crosswinds. That is a small plane and 1 good strong gust (even with ailerons and elevator in the correct position) could still flip it. Diamond 40, not to worried about.