Crossover Spin Video

whifferdill

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
whifferdill
Just to show what it looks like - this is a right rudder upright spin crossed over to inverted (w/ left rudder), back to upright (right rudder), and then a really sloppy recovery to my intended heading. I've picked up on little things since I started shooting video...one of them being that I just realized inverted spins are louder than upright spins in my airplane...I've normally been too busy paying attention to the ground. :)

To get a clean crossover you need to first apply opposite rudder followed by full forward stick a moment later when the rudder has had a chance to bite. This is pretty much what you do for standard upright spin recovery, minus the full forward stick. Just illustrates what can happen in some airplanes if you really overdo the forward stick. The airplane keeps rolling in the same direction, even though there's a change in yaw direction (from the pilot's perspective) that's not as obvious, especially if your first crossover is accidental, and you're by yourself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-S6qx5Mo-E&feature=youtu.be

Just to show what it looks like - this is a right rudder upright spin crossed over to inverted (w/ left rudder), back to upright (right rudder), and then a really sloppy recovery to my intended heading. I've picked up on little things since I started shooting video...one of them being that I just realized inverted spins are louder than upright spins in my airplane...I've normally been too busy paying attention to the ground. :)