Crew Car Usage

MDeitch1976

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MattCanFly
As a new Pilot I have never tried this out yet. What is the etiquette? At what point would you opt to have a rental car waiting?
Yesterday, I had to go up to a friend's house in Delaware near Dover in order to knock out a little side work. My local aerodrome is GAI. I had a two hour drive there, and a two hour drive back, plus 2 hours of work. Could have been an hour, but I relaxed for a little while before turning around. I probably would have broke even on cost of flying out there, but would have been worth it.

As a new Pilot I have never tried this out yet. What is the etiquette? At what point would you opt to have a rental car waiting?
Yesterday, I had to go up to a friend's house in Delaware near Dover in order to knock out a little side work. My local aerodrome is GAI. I had a two hour drive there, and a two hour drive back, plus 2 hours of work. Could have been an hour, but I relaxed for a little while before turning around. I probably would have broke even on cost of flying out there, but would have been worth it.

I think two hours is pushing it for a free loaner. Just my opinion though, and I'm sure others will disagree. You could have had your friend pick you up.

I think two hours is pushing it for a free loaner. Just my opinion though, and I'm sure others will disagree. You could have had your friend pick you up.

Well, him and his wife are down in St.Thomas. Considering I will be picking them up at the airport when they come back, probably not going to work.

Great attitude! Always fly, even if it costs more (which it usually does).

Around here (NorCal), only the big FBOs have crew cars and they usually tell me about four hours is the cut off. Though one time they couldn't get me a rental, so they said I could have it for the day (Stockton). Always leave it with more gas than you they gave it to you with.