Converting Turbo C for MS DOS to Windows

Sac Arrow

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Snorting his way across the USA
Okay so I have an engineering program that runs under MS DOS with graphics and data entry screens all hard coded in Turbo C. Is there any way to convert it in to a Windows application without rewriting the entire thing? I realize that graphics, data entry and file handling will be new but it would sure put me out rewriting the computational routines.

No I am not a Windows developer nor do I presently have the tools. My programming experience ended at pre-Windows C, Fortran and Basic.

Aww geez.

Had to do that myself. Just run it in a DOS window.

--

Actually, if you have the functions you need, you can cut and paste them into a module for whatever language you are using. But you'll have to verify the functions aren't calling any specific TC library functions, you'll have to change those to call whatever library functions your new system provides. You might end up having to use the existing code as a template/algorithm and rewrite for your new compiler. It can get pretty detailed.

Porting stuff like this is a PITA, but doable. If I can do it, pretty much anybody can. Sounds to me like you won't be doing this yourself? Whoever does it for you needs to be aware of what the old application did, how, and why. That will help tremendously when they try to import it into a new version. Hopefully the original is well commented.

Last edited:
freeze dried or doing hard time?

The numerical stuff should compile just fine. I'd package it into a dll (or modern equivalent) and then front end it with Excel or Open Office for graphics and file handling...

Of course I haven't actually done that in five or six years so am not up to date on what might be practical now.