Compensation for services rendered?

dkneisler

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
David Kneisler
This question has probably been asked and answered on the other board, so forgive me if I missed this before.

My wife would like me to auction off a flight in my plane... the proceeds will go to purchase items that will be sent to our troops in Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm a Commercial Pilot. I will see no compensation at all for this proposed flight, however, from the passenger's point of view he/she will have paid for the privilege of the flight.

Bust, or no?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

David

It can be done. I can't remember the reg with the requirements for charitable flights off the top of my head, but there are a couple requirements you need to meet that sound easy enough to me. IIRC, you need to notify the FSDO 7 days in advance of the flight, and you need a urine testing program. I do believe the urine test is waived for AOPA and EAA members, but won't swear to it.

dkneisler said:
This question has probably been asked and answered on the other board, so forgive me if I missed this before.

My wife would like me to auction off a flight in my plane... the proceeds will go to purchase items that will be sent to our troops in Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm a Commercial Pilot. I will see no compensation at all for this proposed flight, however, from the passenger's point of view he/she will have paid for the privilege of the flight.

Bust, or no?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

David

From an article written by John Yodice: