Commercial - Long XC

Caramon13

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Romeo
Hi guys,

Maybe it's just a flaw with myflightbook.com, but I logged my commercial long XC today with the following route:

KSPG KSRQ KSAV KJES KSRQ KPIE KSPG

over 657 miles round trip, 3 landings (actually 6), one at least 250 miles from point of origin (KSPG/KSAV). I did have an instructor on board as I wanted to count some of the time towards complex airplane time/instruction. It appears taht 61.129 says the long xc can have an instructor on board as long as I'm acting PIC, which I was.

Am I reading something wrong or did I make a $1,300 mistake....

Thanks

61.129(a)(4) says an instructor can be on board, but you have to perform the duties of pilot-in-command.

Right, I definitely did that. I had my complex endorsement before the flight, and I'm a private/instrument rated pilot. Hopefully just myflightbook.com shenanigans...

Right, I definitely did that. I had my complex endorsement before the flight, and I'm a private/instrument rated pilot. Hopefully just myflightbook.com shenanigans...

I just checked my Commercial long XC in MyFlightbook and noticed it wasn't checked in ratings progress, either. Once I added the solo time, it did check the box, though. Not sure if @EricBe is aware of this situation or not. Could be that it's tough to tell whether it's ONLY you and the instructor in the plane based solely on PIC time, so for ease of guaranteeing meeting the requirements, he only checks the box if the time is marked solo.

Maybe try editing the flight and adding an entry for 100% of the time as solo and seeing if the box gets checked. Then, remove the solo time entry and see if the box stays checked.