Colorado southbound through Denver airspace

NoHeat

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
I'd like to depart southbound from either Ft. Collins/Loveland or Greeley, heading 160 degrees toward west Texas, and then return. A direct route would take me right through the heart of Denver's class Bravo.

Two questions:

How hard is this?

Would VFR or IFR be best for an IFR pilot who has never experienced a DP or STAR?

Denver TAC - backside shows north and southbound VFR corridors.

I'd probably go IFR. But you can just "step up" with the Bravo ("step down for return") and use VFR flight following. I've done it both was into and out of KAPA (with a CFII since I'm still a VFR pilot). Denver is busy no doubt, but the controllers will typically work with you and even advise when you can step-up if you want to under the B. Get a Denver TAC too.

Use the VFR corridors, and once past the DEN mess turn the radio off and enjoy the trip.

The back of the Denver TAC where the VFR transition routes are published, is not available in Foreflight and the like, sadly. You are probably going to have to get a paper copy of the TAC. This is a problem with Foreflight and other electronic charts right now. I don't know of any that have the VFR transition routes on the back of the TAC charts.

You have a choice... plan to go around the West side, or around the East side. :) They'll probably work with you, but plan to go around. Be mildly surprised when they vector you straight through. Plan for the worst, hope for better. :)

They're not typically that keen on directly over the top of DIA. As Greg says, the VFR routes they "like" are published on the TAC, but for an answer for ya... since if you work with them, they'll usually get you headed the right direction fairly quick... request a Bravo transition early, with final cruising altitude requested and next waypoint, and they'll usually work with ya.