Cold Calling

CC268

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
CC268
Hey guys,

I am a student pilot flying out of a Class D airport. I have never cold called (my instructor hasn't told me to do so), but I noticed guys like MZeroA on YouTube always cold call. Is this good practice? Should you only cold call if the frequency is busy? Cold call on Ground, Tower, Approach, etc?

EDIT: By cold calling I mean just calling up and stating your tail number.

Thanks

Last edited:
There is a term I have never heard before. What does "cold call" mean in this context?

Are you talking about calling and only stating your N-number?

There is a term I have never heard before. What does "cold call" mean in this context?

Are you talking about calling and only stating your N-number?

I've only heard the term as it relates to salesmen. I'm curious as to its meaning here, too.

Oh sorry guys! Yea I meant just saying:

Scottsdale Ground, Skyhawk 6254D

So yes just calling and stating your N-Number

that's exactly how you're supposed to do it. introduce yourself, they'll respond, then u tell them what u want.

That's how I start most of my radio calls. If I have a short request or I'm telling someone something they're already expecting to hear (i.e., checking in with approach after being handed off from a previous frequency), I'll make a full radio call. Otherwise, I figure that gives the controller time to handle whatever else they have going on and then get back to me when they have a few seconds.

If it's a short message / request after your "cold call" that's ok as well. I usually call it a "wake up" call.

that's exactly how you're supposed to do it. introduce yourself, they'll respond, then u tell them what u want.

Really? It seems more efficient to give them a little more information on the call up. I'd add, "at Charlie Lane, ready to taxi with November, south departure" or "10 south, inbound with November." They usually seem annoyed if they have to play twenty questions.