Cirrus SR22 vs Cessna 172 a newbies perspective!

mrjones30

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Freedom is Flying
I flew a Cessna 172S G1000 a few months ago and then I got into a Cirrus SR22 just recently in a flight club. Both conditions were perfect with viz greater than 20 miles. In my opinion, I didn't like the way Cirrus has the joystick on the left side like that, it just feels awkward. I thought that it would be a great transition because I played Flight sim for years on a joystick. I enjoyed the yoke on the older Cessna better for some reason. Due to the fact that I am new to flying I have no personal bias to any particular brand. What is your opinion on both airplanes?

In my opinion, I didn't like the way Cirrus has the joystick on the left side like that, it just feels awkward.
You adapt pretty quickly -- a few hours should do.

What is your opinion on both airplanes?
Different classes. You can't compare a 180HP plane designed in the 50's with the technology of that day to a 310HP plane designed in the 90's with the technologies develped in the four decades between. They're both fine airplanes for the purposes for which they were designed, but they were designed for different purposes.

My experience was a bit different... after ~140hrs in 172S G1000s, I transitioned into an SR20. The sidestick only felt odd for the first 20 minutes or so, then I quickly forgot about it and it felt natural.

The big adjustment for me is taxiing... nosewheel steering vs castering nosewheel. That took a lot more to get used to than the sidestick vs yoke.

Did you actually fly both planes, or just sit in the SR22 on the ground?

The Cessnalumbia's have side sticks....the SR20-22's have half yokes..

My experience was a bit different... after ~140hrs in 172S G1000s, I transitioned into an SR20. The sidestick only felt odd for the first 20 minutes or so, then I quickly forgot about it and it felt natural.