Checkpoints

ebykowsky

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
goalstop
How often do you guys make checkpoints when planning flights for pure pilotage? I tend to go between every 15-25nm for purposes of planning, but if there's another really good closer one, I'll make note and use it as a supplement. Just curious to see from your guys' perspectives. Also, I'm going to be having my checkride in a couple of weeks and want to make sure I have enough.

I picked checkpoints every 10-15 nm when I was a student. Now I don't pick out checkpoints ahead of time, but I do still plot my route on a sectional and follow along during the flight.

I usually use time, and for me it is about every ten minutes or so. Also it depends on where I am flying. I use obvious landmarks as my checkpoints. I have a hard time finding a single tower or a smaller road, but VOR intersections, airports, larger natural formations, water towers, and the like work much better for me.

Now I don't pick out checkpoints ahead of time, but I do still plot my route on a sectional and follow along during the flight.

I sort of agree. I will pick an actual checkpoint every 45-60 min of flying, so I can look at ETA/ATA and know if my calcs are correct (unforecast winds, etc).
Not as critical nowadays when my GPSs will tell be groundspeed rather than having to calculate it.
But my ETE includes time to climb, etc, and changes due to climbing to smooth air or whatever else are not included in my GS reading at the moment. so a checkpoint once in a while tells me how far off my estimates are.

I sort of agree. I will pick an actual checkpoint every 45-60 min of flying, so I can look at ETA/ATA and know if my calcs are correct (unforecast winds, etc).
Not as critical nowadays when my GPSs will tell be groundspeed rather than having to calculate it.