CFI Initial - Write up

furiousphoen1x

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
FuriousPhoen1x
Hey All,

I wanted to give my experiences for the CFI-A Initial test. I used the Lubbock FSDO and I did a 3 day intensive training with www.wacoflyingservice.com

I used my own mooney, a m20C model for the checkride. I have been practicing with friends (pilots) in the left seat and I have been teaching maneuvers and landings in the right seat for about two months. I have been jointly studying for the commercial and CFI since about February.

Here's how the ride went:

I was tested over Human Behavior and the Principles of Learning/Levels/Maslows Hierarchy of Needs. Those are very easy for me because my current job is essentially all of that stuff put together. I'm a professor at a university. At this point I noticed he had only circled a few items on the PTS to be covered.

Next up was Flight Instructor Responsibilities. Chatted a bit about how I'm not supposed to be the sheriff or narc of the airport, but to keep an eye out and make sure nobody dies. He began to ask me about endorsements but as soon as I brought out the 61-65E we went to the next subject. He did make sure to mention that if the endorsement document has been revised up to letter 'E', that I better make sure I'm endorsing what I think I am by referencing the proper reg, 61.87 etc. Lots of real life scenarios about, 'what would you do if you heard your student was taking passengers up?' - Keep calm, ask a few questions, figure out the real situation and not the heresay.

Talked a lot about what 61.87 and 93 really say about solos and cross countries. Was quizzed on all the distances 25nm, 50nm etc etc.

I then taught Runway Incursion and a proper Weight and Balance. W&B was easy since I teach them as two separate subjects and combine them afterwards.