CFI getting back into flying

sunlight

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Sunlight
I think this is a training question more than anything else, so hopefully I'm in the right area. A little background -

I have between 500-600 hours. All but 320-30 of those were logged between 2000-2002 when I was in college. I left college with a commercial, CFI, and A&P. Tried to get back into it after graduation, but it just never happened, I suppose because of money. I have not flown at all in almost four years.

My spouse is now harassing me to start flying again and money isn't an issue, so I'm giving it another chance. Flying this weekend, but I'm pretty much terrified. I am not sure it's worth it. A part of me feels like I'm a terrible pilot and I'm lucky to have no killed myself. That part of me also feels like it's not worth doing this if I can't do it well. I'm also very concerned that the CFI I'm flying with this weekend doesn't quite understand my current lack of ability. He said it would be 2-3 flights to get my BFR done, which I don't believe. I've never flown VFR in airspace like this, or have much experience in uncontrolled fields, so part of this is newer to me than perhaps it should be.

Anyone ever come back and started flying again, even with these confidence issues? I just could use some advice on whether I should even pursue this again.

Figure an hour for every year you've been out. That's what I would tell someone in your shoes.

Ryan

I am flying with someone this weekend that pretty much fits your exact description.

Yeah, see, I'm not buying that, which leads me to believe there's something wrong with my skill level. Including getting me ready for an IPC and being able to actually safely fly a x-c, I'm guessing I'm at least 15 hours away.

And I'm assuming all you CFI's out there are going to wonder why I have no idea how to fly out of an uncontrolled field.