CFI/CFII Liability?

Martymccasland

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
M.McCasland
For no particular reason other than enjoying aviation, I started studying my CFI certificate. I may end up training a few people through the Private, but would really enjoy progressing to the CFII and helping a handful of people get their IR. I have no desire to build time, get an airline job, etc. It would just be for the love of IFR and teaching others.

One question: What's the liability of a CFI/CFII? Anything written into the law to limit liability?

I've never heard of a CFI being sued for negligence, but wouldn't at all be surprised if it has happened. Also, 'can't imagine having students sign some boilerplate waiver being of much use if there's a death/serious injury and a lawyer on contingency starts digging and finds the CFI/CFII has assets worth at least trying to take.

Also, pilots of all experience and rating levels get killed every month (just as car drivers of all levels of ability do the same). Yet, it seems the act of flying would lend a spouse, family, etc. to point fingers harder to a CFI/CFII than the teacher at the local driver's school.

Just curious / thanks in advance for the responses.

I know of instructors who have been sued and the available liability insurance coverage is woefully inadequate. Any instructor with any assets worth grabbing is wide open. It's one of the reasons I haven't bothered getting an instructor rating.

I don't know why you think it's hard to point fingers at instructors. All they have to do is find the students log book and look for the regulatory mandated entries.

For a full analysis of the issue by a real aviation attorney, I suggest reading the legal journal article "Tiger by the Tail". The facts in that paper suggest the picture for CFI's with assets is not nearly as bleak as FRon makes it appear as long as they play it by the book, document properly, and carry an appropriate level of insurance.