Cessna homecoming flyover? Opinions?

Alex a

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Stlcardinalsfan
Hello,

I’m a freshman attending a well known aeronautical school and I earned my ASEL PPL a few months ago.

I’ve been tooling with the idea of maybe performing a flyover (two laps) for the homecoming football game at my school in a Cessna 172R at 500 feet AGL, assuming the weather is complete VFR, all parties are coordinated, and I am mentally prepared.

Our school is situated under the outer ring of a Charlie.

would anyone have any suggestions? Go/no go?

How hard would it be to maybe have the right seat guy wave a standard porch flag attached to a suitable sized rope that wouldn’t extend as to interfere with the horizontal and vertical stabilizers?

I'm thinking that pass over peeps down to 500agl is gonna get you a trip to the FSDO and you'll be redoing your PLL oral and flying with a FAA examiner.

Actually happened to someone in this area. A CFI. Did a little airshow (supposedly). Word is his only way back was to has retake every checkride starting with PPL. Pretty sure he just gave up.

Hello,

I’m a freshman attending a well known aeronautical school and I earned my ASEL PPL a few months ago.

I’ve been tooling with the idea of maybe performing a flyover (two laps) for the homecoming football game at my school in a Cessna 172R at 500 feet AGL, assuming the weather is complete VFR, all parties are coordinated, and I am mentally prepared.

Our school is situated under the outer ring of a Charlie.

would anyone have any suggestions? Go/no go?

How hard would it be to maybe have the right seat guy wave a standard porch flag attached to a suitable sized rope that wouldn’t extend as to interfere with the horizontal and vertical stabilizers?
If not a troll, then get a current FAR/AIM and read it in the down time that many of us are, um, enjoying. If you still think it's a good idea, be sure to file a detailed flight plan first!