Cessna 310 for low time pilot

fizbanco

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Ross
Hi everybody,
Longtime lurker, but this is my first post. I'm a pretty low time pilot, 125 total with 15 complex and working on my instrument. My friend is a longtime pilot with multi rating.

We are looking at buying together a 310. It is one of the turbocharged Riley conversions. I have two questions in regard to this.

First, do you think there is any chance an insurer would cover me once I have my multi. I'd also assume I'll have my instrument by then an maybe 160 hours with 30 or so complex.

Second question, the plane does not include any logs. Do we need proof of ownership of the Riley conversion stc? Does a copy of the Filed 337 count? I appreciate in info. Thanks, Ross

Ross,

First off, if you're looking at a Twin Cessna you should join The Twin Cessna Flyer (www.twincessna.org). A great organization with a wealth of knowledge.

The 310 isn't a hard twin to fly. Plenty of people get their initial multi ratings in 310s. With the turbo Riley engines (I'm guessing you're talking about the Lycoming 350 HP turbo engine conversion?) it's got more power and more speed, but that doesn't make the plane harder to fly per se. I would find a place that has a normal 310 and do the multi in it.

You should be able to get insured in it with a multi-instrument rating. Get your instrument, go get your multi (preferably at a place with a 310 to rent - don't abuse your own plane to that training) and then start flying yours. The first year rates will be expensive. It will go down as you gain experience. I bought my Aztec with 225 hours total time, no multi rating, just single/instrument and about 80 complex.

Most importantly, get good training. Where are you located?

As to the log issues, if the plane has no logs, that may not be the best example. You'll need to research it thoroughly.

I fly a 310N and love it. They're great planes.

Hi everybody,