Cement Pumper Trucks

Gerhardt

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Gerhardt
I was headed back from lunch today and saw a pumper truck pouring cement into the framework for a sidewalk repair. The sidewalk is 4 feet from the street, where the truck was. It seems like over the last 10 years or so with the proliferation of the pumping trucks that this is more common. Hundreds of times I've seem pumper trucks with the rails that go almost straight up and come almost straight down. So I turned around and went back to talk to the guys working.

"I have to ask, why the pumper truck?"

"I have no idea. It's in the specs."

"Is there a benefit to moving it all the way up, then back down? Surely there's a reason."

"No reason that I can think of other than that's what the specs call for. And I've been doing this for almost twenty years."

We talked a bit more and I think the group was amused at my curiosity, probably more to break their boredom than anything.

Surely there's an expert here on these boards. What's the benefit of using a pumper truck when it would be easier to just use a regular truck w/ a chute?

Dunno - my contractor buddy usually knows how far from the street he needs to pour, and calls out a pumper or not as necessary.

I was headed back from lunch today and saw a pumper truck pouring cement into the framework for a sidewalk repair. The sidewalk is 4 feet from the street, where the truck was. It seems like over the last 10 years or so with the proliferation of the pumping trucks that this is more common. Hundreds of times I've seem pumper trucks with the rails that go almost straight up and come almost straight down. So I turned around and went back to talk to the guys working.

"I have to ask, why the pumper truck?"

"I have no idea. It's in the specs."

"Is there a benefit to moving it all the way up, then back down? Surely there's a reason."