Cell Phone Help

Paul Allen

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Paul
It's time for a new phone and I would like one that I can receive my emails. My choices from Alltel are the Blackberry 8830, the Pearl 8130, the Palm 755P and the Palm 700WX. I have no experience with these phones and would like some opinions.

Thanks

It's time for a new phone and I would like one that I can receive my emails. My choices from Alltel are the Blackberry 8830, the Pearl 8130, the Palm 755P and the Palm 700WX. I have no experience with these phones and would like some opinions.

Thanks

I have spent a lot of time with the Blackberry 81xx and 88xx phones, as well as the Palm Treo 600/650s (older than the 700/755s). Research in Motion (blackberry) puts out a hell of a product, that's for sure. The 81xx series are plagued with trackball issues, and are easily damaged by dropping (much like many of the Motorola V/Z 3 series phones). The 88xx series has a built in GPS, but is much, much bigger and bulkier than any of the other phones you have on your list.

The benefit of the Blackberry devices is that software updates come out much more frequently than either PalmOS or Windows Mobile (which the newer Palm devices run). This means when problems crop up, they are easily fixed by updating the software. Now, I really like WIndows Mobile for useability over Blackberry's interface, but problem for problem, I'd take Blackberry any day.

Different question:

Are there any cell phones out there capable of handling 2 lines?

Probably the answer to that is, "Why would you want it?" but I'm just curious. :)

Different question:

Are there any cell phones out there capable of handling 2 lines?

Probably the answer to that is, "Why would you want it?" but I'm just curious. :)
Yes there are. I have an older digital from Verizon (audiovox) and my company NEXTEL (a motorola i970) both have two lines.
Two lines, twice the cost. They both have to be activated thru the same carrier.